After minority panel, Haj committee also stacks with BJP people  

AP Abdullahkutty has been elected as the chairperson of the Haj Committee of India. (Photo | Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi Twitter)

By Special Correspondent

New Delhi: The Haj Committee of India has elected A P Abdullakutty, a BJP national vice-president, as its chairperson.  For the two  Vice-chairperson’s posts  Munawari Begum and Mafuza Khatun (both BJP members) were elected. It is for the first time that two women were elected as vice-chairpersons of the Committee. It is worth noting that the Haj committee has been without a chairperson since the term of former chairman Choudhary Mehboob Ali Kaiser expired last year. The Haj committee, like the National Commission for Minorities, was now stacked with governing party members. Kaiser is the Lok Janshakti Party  Lok Sabha  member from  Bihar.


Abdullakutty is a former Lok Sabha member elected from Kannur in Kerala who is a political ideological renegade. He was first in Congress and then joined the CPI (M) and elected on its ticket. After losing the election, he shifted his political loyalty and in 2020 joined the saffron bandwagon.

Both the women office bearers are also BJP members. Mafuza Khatun is a vice president of West Bengal BJP unit and Munawari Begum is also from the BJP stable who is currently a member of Central Wakf Council.

The Kerala Haj Committee’s head, C Mohammed Faizy, has also been elected  to the federal Haj Committee.

Minority Affairs Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi congratulated the new office-bearers and expressed happiness about the election of two women.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here