Gujarat polls: BJP wins 8 seats out of 10 in Muslim-populated areas

Celebration of BJP victory in Gujarat

By Muslim Mirror Network

In the Gujarat assembly elections, BJP won with a record margin of victory. Unexpectedly, Muslim-dominated districts were where the BJP received the most votes. The party did not field a single Muslim candidate in the elections but managed to win 8 out of 10 Muslim majority seats.


Out of 10 Muslim majority seats, 4 seats were previously held by the Congress. The party managed to regain 2 seats Jamalpur and Danilmada.

Congress leader Ghiyasuddin Shaikh, who has been elected MLA three times from the Daryapur seat, lost to BJP’s Kaushik Jain in this election. The Daryapur seat of Gujarat was held by the Congress for the last 10 years.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which contested the elections for the first time in Gujarat, could not win a single seat out of the 16 seats in the Muslim-majority areas. The party won only five seats in Gujarat but got thirteen percent votes.

Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) fielded 13 candidates, including two non-Muslims. With a tiny vote percentage in the seats it ran in, the party was unable to have a significant impact on the Gujarat assembly elections. Less than 0.3% of the state’s votes went in favor of it.

According to media reports, in the 16 seats with a majority of Muslims, the AAP and AIMIM played a significant influence in dividing the votes that usually go to Congress.

It is noteworthy that the number of Muslim voters in Gujarat is 10%. Muslim voters have a good influence on 30% of the seats. Among the 10 Muslim-majority constituencies, Daryapur, Wagra, Bharuch, Vijalpur, Bhaj, Bapu Nagar, Jambusar, Lumbiat, Jamalpur, Khadia, Danielmada are prominent. Daryapur has 40 percent Muslim voters.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here