Over 50 historians and prominent academics deplore governor Arif Khan for calling VC Prof Gopinath as “criminal”

Kerala Governor Arif Mohammed Khan

By Special Correspondent

New Delhi : Over 50 historians and prominent academics slammed Kerala Governor, Arif Mohammad Khan for eminent historian and Vice Chancellor of Kannur University, Professor Gopinath Ravindran as a “criminal.” They issued a statement deploring the baseless remarks made by the Kerala Governor against Prof Gopinath Ravindran and expressed their support to him.

“We are shocked to learn from the media that the Governor of Kerala, Shri Arif Mohammad Khan, has described the Vice Chancellor of Kannur University, the eminent historian, Professor Gopinath Ravindran as a “criminal”, the statement said.

Professor Gopinath Ravindran is one of India’s leading historians, with a particular specialisation in the agrarian history of Kerala and historical demography. He was Head of the Department of History and Culture at the Jamia Millia Islamia Central University, New Delhi, and has been Member Secretary of the Indian Council of Historical Research. He has also been Director, Nelson Mandela Centre for Peace and Conflict Resolution at the Jamia Millia Islamia.

As Vice Chancellor, Professor Gopinath Ravindran has led the Kannur University with distinction.

They said the Governor has, on earlier occasions questioned the re-appointment of Professor Ravindran as Vice Chancellor in press statements. The High Court, however, dismissed a writ petition that sought to remove Professor Ravindran from the post.

“The false, defamatory and politically motivated campaign against the Vice Chancellor by the Governor and the Chancellor of the University is unacceptable. The Governor must stop this harassment of a distinguished historian and Vice Chancellor immediately”.

The statement is signed by Prof Prabhu Prasad Mohapatra, Prof Romila Thapar, Prof. Kesavan Veluthat, Prof Vasanthi Devi, Former Vice Chancellor, Prof Syed Ali Nadeem Rezavi, Prof Purendra Prasad, Prof Tanweer Fazal, Department of Political Science, Prof Abdul Matin, Prof G Arunima, Prof K Nageswar, Prof KN Pannikar, Prof Prabhat Patnaik, Prof. Sucheta Mahajan, Prof. Niladri Bhattacharya, Prof. RP Bahuguna, Prof. Tanuja Kothiyal, Prof. Amar Farooqui, Prof. Anirudh Deshpande, Prof. Janaki Abraham, and others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here