By-polls in UP: BSP to support SP on both loksabha seats


Muslim Mirror Desk

Lucknow: The by-polls on two Lok Sabha seats of Uttar Pradesh would take place on 11 March. Following the elections, BSP (Bahujan Samaj Party) announced to extend their support to the candidate of SP (Samajwadi Party).


BSP has extended its support on both the Gorakhpur and Phulpur seats, both the seats were vacated since the last year when Yogi Adityanath who was the MLA of Gorakhpur took oath as Chief Minister and the Phulpur MLA Keshav Prasad Maurya took oath as the Deputy Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh.

Earlier, Samajwadi Party has indicated to make a secular and Anti-BJP alliance that would be helpful ahead.The BSP announcement has taken place in presence of Praveen Patel and Nagendra Pratap Singh on, Sunday. Both are the candidate from Gorakhpur and Phulpur constituency.

While the announcement was made by the BSP leader Ghanshyam Kharwaron the behalf of BSP Supremo and former Chief Minister, Mayawati.

It has been speculated that the alliance might be beneficial for the SP as it will help them to fetch the SC and OBC support, while the BSP will lose their vote bank.


  1. NEW DELHI: While the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) may be joining hands with the Samajwadi Party (SP) to counter the ruling BJP in the upcoming bypolls in Uttar Pradesh, chief Mayawati has clarified that her party has “not allied” with any other. “I want to clarify that BSP has not allied with any political party. All rumours about a BSP and SP alliance in Uttar Pradesh for 2019 Lok Sabha elections are false and baseless,” said Mayawati at a press briefing in Lucknow. She did indicate that any decision on a tie-up would be taken during the Lok Sabha polls and would depend on whether the BSP is offered a “respectable number of seats. ” With barely a week left for voting for the crucial by-elections to Gorakhpur and Phulpur, former chief minister Mayawati”s BSP has declared support to candidates fielded by the Akhilesh Yadav-led SP. “We have not floated any candidate for Lok Sabha Phulpur and Gorakhpur by-polls.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here