Noted activists observe Lakshadweep Solidarity Day across the country 

  • Activists joined Lakshadweep people in demanding ‘Call Back the Administrator and Save Lakshadweep

By Special Correspondent

New Delhi: In solidarity with people of Lakshadweep who are on hunger strike, prominent activists and concerned citizens under the banner of the National Federation of Indian Women (NFIW) on Monday held a protest at Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Marg near Parliament House here. Condemning the actions of Lakshadweep new administrator Parful Khoda Patel, they joined with Lakshadweep people in demanding “Call Back the Administrator and Save Lakshadweep”.

Along with Aruna Roy and Annie Raja, President and General Secretary of NFIW and its members in 25 States joined by People from different walks of life in making the Lakshadweep solidarity Day a big success.

We stand here to register our deep concern over disturbing developments taking place in the pristine Union Territory (UT) of Lakshadweep in the name of ‘development’, they said.

Holding placards, they said Patel, a BJP man, since taking charge as Administrator of Lakshadweep, has introduced drafts of three regulations that have generated widespread anxiety in Lakshadweep and the nation at large. These drafts have been introduced without local consultation, they added.

NFIW stands with the people of Lakshadweep against the disturbing and destructive development of the Union Territory, said Aruna Roy. . The notorious steps taken by the UT Administrator, atel, like PASA draft, LDAR, sale of alcohol, beef ban etc exposes its intention of destroying communal harmony, democratic rights and secular values to make the UT a Hindutva one, she added.

NFIW strongly condemns the Administrations’ vengeful and hateful action and activities, they said.

Noted political and social activists including DMK MP Kanimozhi , K.P.Fabian, former Planning Commission member Syeda Hameed, former administrator of Lakshadweep Wajahat Habibullah, Maya Rao, Shabnam Hashmi, Adv Prashant Bhushan, Kamla Bhasin, Dr Miratun Nahar, actor Debdat Ghose, Poet Mandakranta Sen, Bhanwari Devi, Medha Pathkar, Journalist Sankar Ray and Aniket Chattopadhyay, Kavita Srivasthava, Dr Ladkumari Jain, Fr, Cedric Prakash and many others joined the programme and expressed their support with Lakshadweep people.

NFIW has given a call to all its state units and all progressive sections of society to observe 7th June 2021 as LAKSHADWEEP SOLIDARITY DAY


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here