Maulana Rabey Hasani Nadwi unanimously re-elected AIMPLB president for for 6th time

Rabey Hasani Nadwi

Pervez Bari 

Kolkata, November 18: Once again the noted Muslim cleric of national and international repute Maulana Syed Mohammad Rabey Hasani Nadwi was unanimously re-elected president of the All India Muslim Personal Law Board, (AIMPLB), an apex body of Muslims. on Friday in its 25th annual conference which is being held here in Kolkata. There was no change in the position of other office-bearers as all were also unanimously re-elected.

Rabey Hasani Nadwi
Rabey Hasani Nadwi

It is for the sixth time that Maulana Rabey, Rector of the Nadwatul Ulema, a famous Islamic university in Uttar Pradesh capital Lucknow, will head the AIMPLB, which was formed four decades ago to protect the “Shariah” or the Islamic laws. This will be his fourth consecutive term. He was first elected in April 2002 following the death of Qazi Mujahid-ul-Islam Qasmi in Hyderabad.

Maulana Rabey later picked his team for the sixth term wherein he nominated his old panel which included Maulana Syed Wali Rahmani as general secretary of AIMPLB, Maulana Khalid Saifullah Rahmani &  Maulana Mohammad Fazlur Rahim Mujaddidi as secretaries and other office-bearers of the outgoing team. A 40-member executive body was unanimously elected wherein all the members who had completed their three year term were re-elected. Five new members of the executive committee were also elected in place of those who had passed away in last three years. They are: Maulana Khalilur-Rahman Sajjad Nomani, Maulana Syed Mahmood Asad Madani, Mohammad Umrain Mahfooz Rahmani, E. Abubacker and Adv. Abdul Qadeer.


Later, Maulana Rabey will nominate 10 members to the Executive Committee of AIMPLB to make it 50-member body. There was no contest for any post and also for the executive body.

It may be mentioned here that Maulana Syed Mohammad Rabey Hasani Nadwi was born on October 1, 1929 at Takia Kalan, Raebareli in the family of Syed Rasheed Ahmad Hasani and Ummatul Azeez. Mohtarmah Ummatul Azeez was sister of Maulana Syed Abul Ahasan Ali Nadvi alias Ali Mian Nadvi. He completed his primary education from his family maktab at Raebareli, Passed Fazilat from Darul Uloom Nadwatul Ulema, Lucknow in 1958. He spend year 1957 at Darul Uloom, Deoband for one year and the year 1950-51 in Hijaz in for education and Dawah.

Maulana Rabey is nephew of former President Hazrat Maulana Syed Abul Hasan Ali Nadwi @ Ali Mian (Rahamatullah Aley). He was appointed as assistant teacher at Darul Uloom Nadwatul Ulema after completing studies in 1949. He remained at Hijaz (K.S.A.) I from 1950-1951 for further studies and research. In 1952 he was appointed Assistant Professor at Darul Uloom Nadwatul Ulema, Lucknow. He was appointed the Head of Arabic Department at Nadwa in 1955. He was appointed the Dean, Faculty of Arabic of Nadwa in 1970. He was conferred award by Indian Council Uttar Pradesh for his contribution in the field of Arabic language. He was also conferred Presidential Award for his contribution in the field of Arabic language in the same year. In 1993 he was appointed Muhtamim (Vice Chancellor) of Darul Uloom Nadwatul Ulema. In 1999 he was appointed Naib Nazim (Chancellor) of the Nadwa and in 2000, after death of Hazrat Maulana Syed Abul Hasan Ali Nadwi (Rahamatullah Aley); he was elected as Nazim (Rector) of Nadwa.

He has travelled to Japan, Morocco, Malaysia, Egypt, Tunisia, Algeria, Uzbekistan, Turkey, South Africa and many other Arab, European and African countries. He has published 15 books in Arabic and 12 books in Urdu besides having many unpublished works. He is acclaimed for his scholarship.

Maulana Rabey is also Vice President of the Aalami Rabita Adab-e-Islami, Riyadh (K.S.A.); President, Majlis-e-Tehqiqat-o-Nashariyat Islam, Lucknow; President, Majlis-e-Sahafat-o-Nashariyat, Darul Uloom Nadwatul Ulema, Lucknow; President, Deeni Taleemi Council, Uttar Pradesh; President, Dar-e-Arfat, Raebareli; Founder Member, Rabita Aalam-e-Islami, Makka Mukarrmah; Member, Darul Musannffin, Azamgarh; Trustee, Oxford Centre of Islamic Studies, Oxford University, UK; Patron, Payam-e-Insaniyat and Patron, Islamic Fiqh Academy (India). (



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here