Malaysia swears in 13 ministers, 23 deputies


Kuala Lumpur : Malaysia on Monday swore-in 13 ministers and 23 deputy ministers at the royal palace here.

Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad completed his Cabinet with the latest additions, which included the Minister for Foreign Affairs Saifuddin Abdullah, International Trade and Industry Minister Ignatius Darell and Minister of Natural Resources and Environment Xavier Jayakumar, the Bernama news agency reported.


Thirteen other ministers of the Cabinet had taken oaths in May, days after the Pakatan Harapan (Alliance of Hope) achieved a landslide victory in the May elections, defeating former Prime Minister Najib Razak’s Barisan Nasional (National Front) government which had ruled since 1974.

Pakatan Harapan, which was formed by four opposition parties, won 113 of the 222 seats in the unicameral Parliament while Barisan Nasional managed to win 79.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here